“Emma Watson Explains Why She’s Taking a Year Off From Acting”

“There’s a good reason why you’ve been missing Emma Watson on the big screen.

The 25-year-old actress explains why she’s decided to take a year off from acting in a new interview with author and activist bell hooks for Paper magazine.

“I’m taking a year away from acting to focus on two things, really. My own personal development is one,” Watson says. “My own personal task is to read a book a week, and also to read a book a month as part of my book club. I’m doing a huge amount of reading and study just on my own.”

“I almost thought about going and doing a year of gender studies, then I realized that I was learning so much by being on the ground and just speaking with people and doing my reading,” she continues. “I actually wanted to keep on the path that I’m on. I’m reading a lot this year, and I want to do a lot of listening.”

It’s no secret that advocating for gender equality is a passion of Watson’s. She was appointed to the role of U.N. Women Goodwill Ambassador in 2014, and launched the HeForShe initiative, which advocates for total equality without the use of negative rhetoric and for getting men to join the political and social battle.

“I want to listen to as many different women in the world as I can,” Watson tells hooks. “That’s something that I’ve been doing on my own, through the U.N., the HeForShe campaign, and my work generally…”

https://www.yahoo.com/tv/emma-watson-explains-why-shes-202300461.html

Leave a Reply

